April Showers bring… Aprons!

I’ve been saving this post for a while as the outcome was a gift and I didn’t want to spoil it!

My cousin Joe is getting married in June and this weekend was his lovely bride, Sam’s, bridal shower. A few months ago, she posted an apron made from the leg of a pair of jeans on my Facebook wall saying I could make it for her as a gift. Though I loved the idea, I already had a gift for her so it got moved to the file in my brain labeled “Wouldn’t it be cool to make this one day,” and I forgot about it. That is until my favorite jeans…

IMG_0058
…gave out on me.

Womp womp...
Womp womp…

BUT then my brain started screaming at me, “HEY! Remember that project Sam told you about? Now you have the right materials for it! You must obsess over it until you find the time to actually make it happen!!” And I said, “You know what Brain? You’re right!!”

So in the meantime while I didn’t have the time to actually be putting needle to thread, I still was following all of my favorite blogs and gathering ideas. One of my favorite inspirations is Dana from danamadeit.com to whom I will never ever hold a candle but she’s at least given us “normal” people a chance by starting a series of video lessons. The one that caught me for this particular project was the one about making your own bias tape. After watching it, I knew that’s what I needed to do for the apron.

At my next trip to Michael’s, I found this fabric (their selection is null but this was in what I’ll call the pillow/embroidery section) and while it was rolled up and I didn’t know if it would be enough I bought it anyways. I was pleasantly surprised when I unrolled it.

O, hey Deadliest Catch marathon on in the background!
O, hey Deadliest Catch marathon on in the background!

Ok, so I had my materials! Jeans, bias tape fabric, and time. GO!

First, I cut the “good” leg (sans holes) off at the hip:

IMG_0062

Then I folded in half and cut the arm hole areas by cutting a half moon shape at the top which when unfolded (and evened out a bit) looked like this:

IMG_0063

Next came the bias tape! I fearlessly followed Dana’s instruction, cut the fabric on the bias (or at a 45 degree angle) and got to folding and ironing!

Fold, iron, repeat.
Fold, iron, repeat.

Lemme tell ya… Bias tape is my new most favorite thing. No measuring and pinning hems, just place that sucker on your piece, sew, and you have a perfect and professional looking edge. SCORE! Because bias tape also has a bit of give, it can follow curves more easily.

So I had the edges done, now onto the neck strap and tie around the back. I took what was left of my bias tape scraps, put the right sides together and sewed three lines. Then I cut in them in half (essentially making two tubes).

IMG_0065

I then took a safety pin on one end of each tube and fed it through to flip it right side out (sorry no pictures). I then ironed and measured how low I wanted the apron to hang and sewed the neck strap in place.

IMG_0067

For the back “tie” however, I wanted to figure out a way to not have a bunch of tiny seams in the strap so the easiest thing I could think to do was make one long piece and add velcro to the sides.

The velcro dots blend right in!
The velcro dots blend right in!

Lastly, I decided to add a pocket to the front so I carefully removed one from my jeans with a seam ripper. Unfortunately the pockets had all sorts of embellishments so I just covered it up by using more of my bias tape material!

Bye bye embellishments!
Bye bye embellishments!

And the final result looked like this:

Ta da!
Ta da!

I considered adding more details (like the buttons I had that matched the polka dots) but decided (after seeking outside opinions) that I should just leave it as is. I am absolutely thrilled with how it came out and look:

The blushing bride!
The blushing bride!

I think she liked it too! What do you think? Do you have an old pair of jeans that you’ve repurposed? I’d love to hear about it!

xoxo

2 thoughts on “April Showers bring… Aprons!

Leave a Reply

