7 Hairstyles in 7 Days!

So last week in one of my favorite blogs, Hair Romance, I read how she had accepted the challenge put forward by Fox in Flats to do the 7 Day Hair Dare. While I love doing fancier hairstyles on myself, I love sleep more, so often my work hairstyles leave much to be desired. I decided it would be fun to see if I could do this challenge for myself. Here’s how it turned out!

Day 1: Being that it was Memorial Day, I wanted to do a red, white, and blue motif of sorts and as my dress was blue and white, that left the red to my hair.

Red, white, and blue!
Red, white, and blue!

I used a red scarf which I tied around my head first and then incorporated the red scarf as one of the three plaits in two pigtails which I then pinned up and hid the ends in the scarf. I had never tried this before and was very happy with how it came out AND how well it held throughout the day.

Day 2: One of my new favorite hair accouterments is a hair donut which my mom bought for me. It allows me to throw my hair up in a ponytail and make a clean bun, like so…

Hair donut!
Hair donut!

In the past I had made sock buns which had similar outcomes, but not as clean. Also, full disclosure, this is two separate days because I’m lame and repeated this hairstyle (day 2 and 7). It’s just so easy and keeps all my hair up out of the way!

Day 3: This day I actually gave myself the time to do a proper fancy style for work! It’s a lace dutch braid starting at my part, going across the back of my head and then twisted up into a side bun.

Braidy braid braid
Braidy braid braid

Day 4: Today was a blah day.

Blah.
Blah.

The best I could come up with was a ponytail, but at least I hid the elastic with a piece of hair! Meh.

Day 5: On another of my favorite blogs, she is always featuring her “Tuck and Cover” hairstyle in different variations so I decided to give it a shot but with a few changes since I have a lot more hair than she seems to.

Tuck and cover!
Tuck and cover!

I ended up having to braid my hair and roll it up into the headband and pin it in place. Anything else I tried fell right out because my hair is just too heavy. I like how it turned out though!

Day 6: Fun day at a winery calls for a casual fun hairdo! Enter side messy fishtail braid!

Fisshhhh
Fisshhhh

I probably could’ve redone this to make the sections smaller and therefore make it look more fishtail, but I was happy with how it came out!

Day 7: Like I said, I was lame and repeated my bun since we went to breakfast early and then for a hike but I recently sent my cousin examples of top braids to possibly do for her senior ball and they’re actually more like what I do on a regular basis anyways, so…

So many choices!
So many choices!

Ok, so maybe I don’t wear a tiara on the regular, but the other ones I do and then either pull the rest of the hair into a low ponytail or a bun.

So I’d say the challenge was a success! I mostly did this for me because I need a little something to look forward most work days but also because lately I’ve been feeling stagnant and frumpy and needed to shake it up! So who will do the challenge next? I’d love to see what you come up with!

xoxo

2 thoughts on “7 Hairstyles in 7 Days!

Leave a Reply

